First Youth Parliament Election results announced

(Title Image: National Assembly of Wales)

On 5th December 2018 the Llywydd, Elin Jones (Plaid, Ceredigion). announced the results of the first election to the National Youth Parliament of Wales.

“As we look forward to celebrating twenty years since the creation of a parliament for Wales next year, I am pleased to announce that this place is about to become the home of another exciting parliament – our first ever Youth Parliament.


“This is a golden opportunity to empower the next generation and I am confident that this group will be great champions for the issues that are important to the young people of Wales today.”
– Llywydd, Elin Jones

40 members (MYPs) were elected from each of the 40 Senedd constituencies and a further 20 were co-opted by partner organisations. It’s said 25,000 young people between the ages of 11-18 registered to take part in the election. It was also the first time electronic voting has been used in an election of its kind anywhere in the UK.

Each member will serve a two-year term and the first meeting of the Youth Parliament is scheduled for February 2019.

The full announcement video is below, but a list of members and their individual platforms/manifestos is available here.