EU agrees to Brexit delay; ball back in UK Parliament’s court

(Title Image: Flickr via Tiocfaidh ár lá 1916 Creative Commons CC BY-ND)

The UK will not leave the EU until 12th April 2019 at the earliest following an agreement between the Prime Minister and the EU Commission last week.

The Prime Minister has so far failed to get her withdrawal agreement through the House of Commons, while the Speaker of the House of Commons, John Bercow MP, has blocked her tabling the same motion before MPs for a third time using parliamentary rules dating back to the 17th Century.

The EU has also agreed that if the withdrawal agreement is approved by MPs, the exit date will be pushed back to 22nd May 2019 to give the UK more time to prepare.

On March 20th, the Prime Minister gave a televised statement from Downing Street saying she was “on the public’s side” and calling on MPs to break the deadlock.

As of posting, it’s unclear if or when a third vote on the deal will take place.