Theresa May’s Brexit deal rejected by UK Parliament; no-confidence vote tabled

(Title Image: The i newspaper)

On 15th January, the UK House of Commons voted by 432 votes to 202 to reject the deal negotiated with the EU by UK Prime Minister, Theresa May on Brexit.

With a 230 vote margin, it’s the biggest government defeat in UK history and the largest defeat in almost 100 years.

Leader of the Opposition, Labour’s Jeremy Corbyn MP, tabled a motion of no confidence in the government which is to be debated later today (16th January 2019). The no-confidence motion has the support of the Liberal Democrats, Greens, SNP and Plaid Cymru – though it’s expected that the Conservatives and Northern Ireland’s DUP will back the Prime Minister.

If the Prime Minister survives the confidence vote, she’s expected to begin talks with senior parliamentarians from all parties on a way forward, though the European Union has made it clear that they’re unwilling to renegotiate the deal.

In a non-binding vote, the Senedd rejected the deal on December 4th 2018. The Scottish Parliament also rejected the deal.